Obriu-me els llavis, Senyor

(2000, Oslo)

Recording: Latvian Radio Choir, Sigvards Klava, 2011.
5 choirs (17 voices):
4 mixed choirs (at least 32 singers, preferably 64)
with divisi and a male voice choir.

Obriu-me els llavis, Senyor is one of those a cappella works that I present in almost all of my lectures as a reference for completely new possibilities in choral music. It begins with a cluster that achieves an immense effect through its pure intonation alone, before a shimmering chorus of overtones rises from a dense chord of precise vocals as if it were not from this world. It is one of my favourite passages from one of my favourite CDs: Blanc. This CD is one of my most listened to and is an absolute recommendation. Latvian Radio Choir, conducted by Sigvards Klava, is one of the best in the world.

The fascinating thing about the overtones of the Latvian Radio Choir is that they maintain the lightness of the voice and the intonation of the fundamental notes without any obvious change in timbre when they change overtone technique. This is my sound ideal. The overtones seem almost unreal, one can hardly believe that the entire sound is sung exclusively a cappella. This skill unfolds the true magic of overtone singing. This is the future of professional overtone singing: the imperceptible, softly flowing transition from the classical voice to the world of overtones and back again.

Bernat Vivancos’ music is like a city of angels: blissful sounds populated by saintly spirits hiding between the notes as birds in a tree.
Lasse Thoresen

If you want to buy the CD, I recommend downloading it from the publisher’s website. There you can download a higher quality than the usual CD. And under the tab ”Scores” you will find a very special extra: free download of the sheet music.

Interview with the composer:

 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Obriu-me els llavis, Senyor

(2000, Oslo)

Aufnahme: Lettischer Rundfunkchor, Sigvards Klava, 2011.
5 Chöre (17 Stimmen):
4 gemischte Chöre (mindestens 32 Sänger, vorzugsweise 64)
Mit Divisi und 1 Männerchor.

Obriu-me els llavis, Senyor ist eines jener a cappella Werke, die ich bei fast allen meiner Vorträge als Referenz für völlig neue Möglichkeiten der Chormusik vorstellen. Es beginnt mit einem Cluster, der allein schon durch seine Reinintonation eine immense Wirkung erzielt, bevor sich ein flirrender Chor aus Obertönen aus einem dichten Akkord präziser Singstimmen erhebt, als wäre er nicht von dieser Welt. Es ist eine meiner Lieblingsstellen aus einer meiner Lieblings-CDs: Blanc. Diese CD gehört zu meinen meistgehörten und ist eine absolute Empfehlung. Der Lettische Rundfunkchor unter der Leitung von Sigvards Klava gehört zu den besten der Welt.

Was mich an den Obertönen des Lettischen Rundfunkchores so fasziniert, ist, dass sie die Leichtigkeit der Stimme und die Intonation der Grundtöne ohne offensichtliche Änderung der Klangfarbe beibehalten, wenn sie in Obertontechnik wechseln. Das ist mein Klangideal. Die Obertöne scheinen fast unwirklich, man kann kaum glauben, dass der gesamte Klang ausschließlich a cappella gesungen ist. Diese Kunstfertigkeit entfaltet die wahre Magie des Obertongesangs. Das ist die Zukunft des professionellen Obertongesangs: Der unmerkliche, weich fließende Übergang von der klassischen Stimme in die Obertonwelt und zurück.

Bernat Vivancos‘ music is like a city of angels: blissful sounds populated by saintly spirits hiding between the notes as birds in a tree.
Lasse Thoresen

Wer die CD kaufen möchte, dem empfehle ich den Download von der Website des Verlags. Man kann dort nämlich eine höhere Qualität als die übliche CD herunter laden. Und unter dem Reiter Scores findet Ihr ein ganz besonderes Extra: den kostenlosten Download der Noten.

Interview mit dem Komponisten:

0 Kommentare

Hinterlasse ein Kommentar

An der Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.