Encyclopedia of the Voice

Fundamental reference work with over 50 top-class authors.

Encyclopedia of the Voice
History – Scientific Foundations – Vocal Techniques – Interpreters

Ann-Christine Mecke / Martin Pfleiderer / Bernhard Richter / Thomas Seedorf (ed.)
With a foreword by Thomas Hampson
800 pages with 174, partly coloured illustrations and 24 examples of sheet music. Linen with dust jacket.
Laaber-Verlag, Laaber 2016

€ 98, – (subscription price until 31.3.2017; afterwards approx. € 118, -)
(Instrumenten-Lexika 5)
ISBN 978–3–89007–546–4

I am very pleased that I was able to participate in this work of the century with a contribution to overtone singing (p. 450-452). The book is a fantastic time saver, I’ve been waiting a long time for that. Nowhere else can you find the key statements of top-class experts so quickly. Not even the Wikipedia can keep up with this, because the vocal-related terms are very scattered and not written so concisely. The encyclopedia has been compiled by the currently leading German authors for voice, with very clever and consistent cross-references.

I already have a few books on the voice, anatomy, acoustics and singing technique that I never read completely, but rather consult on individual questions. I now read all these books much more efficiently if I look up the core statements in the lexicon beforehand. Although the encyclopedia weighs 2.5 kg, I have had it with me on all my train rides ever since it was published, because I have never been able to learn so much about the voice in such a short time. The lexicon is worth more than its price. Often you don’t really need a whole textbook and find the essence of all terms in one place.

The book will be an important contribution to the more uniform use of technical terms in the singing world. Finally you can discuss some of the often somewhat vague topics on an equal level. Vocal pedagogy is very enriched by the book.

I can highly recommend this book to anyone who has to do with the singing voice, whether vocal professional, choir singers, teachers or vocalists.

Everything about the world’s oldest instrument –
The singing voice in a unique reference book

This comprehensive encyclopaedic reference work provides information about the oldest musical instrument in human history: the human voice. By approaching this phenomenon from a completely new angle and at the same time addressing all the manifestations of singing, the encyclopedia of singing voice finally closes a long existing gap in music literature.

Physiological aspects, such as anatomy of the (singing) voice and vocal training, are treated in detail as well as the different types of voices and vocal techniques. “Singing is a noble art and practice” Martin Luther already stated in his after-dinner speeches. Accordingly, questions of vocal pedagogy and the art of performance are given just as much importance as the field of church music and the various developments in choral music.

Laaber-Verlag

The “Lexikon der Gesangsstimme” is aimed at a wide range of readers: singers and other musicians, singing teachers, musicologists, vocal doctors, vocal therapists, speakers, media representatives and amateurs interested in singing. The lexicon covers a wide range of topics and seeks to link the current state of knowledge in various disciplines (vocal pedagogy, phoniatrics, phonetics, anatomy, vocal physiology, musicology, and historical and systematic musicology).

Stuttgarter Stimmtage

Further publications by Wolfgang Saus

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tell a friend

Lexikon der Gesangsstimme

Fundamentales Nachschlagewerk mit über 50 hochkarätigen Autoren.

Lexikon der Gesangsstimme

Lexikon der Gesangsstimme.
Geschichte – Wissenschaftliche Grundlagen – Gesangstechniken – Interpreten

Ann-Christine Mecke / Martin Pfleiderer / Bernhard Richter / Thomas Seedorf (Hrsg.)
Mit einem Geleitwort von Thomas Hampson
800 Seiten mit 174, z. T. farbigen Abb. und 24 Notenbeispielen. Leinen mit Schutzumschlag.
Laaber-Verlag, Laaber 2016

€ 98,– (Subskriptionspreis bis 31.3.2017; danach ca. € 118,–)
(Instrumenten-Lexika 5)
ISBN 978–3–89007–546–4

Wolfgang Saus (Foto Eva Haslinger)

Ich freue mich sehr, dass ich an diesem Jahrhundertwerk mit einem Beitrag zum Obertongesang (S. 450-452) mitwirken durfte. Das Buch ist ein fantastischer Zeitsparer, darauf habe ich lange gewartet. Nirgendwo sonst findet man so schnell die Kernaussagen hochkarätiger Fachleute. Nichtmal die Wikipedia kann das mithalten, weil dort die gesangsbezogenen Begriffe sehr verstreut und nicht so konzentriert geschrieben sind. Das Lexikon wurde von den derzeit führenden Fachautoren Deutschlands für Stimme verfasst, mit sehr klugen und konsistenten Querverweisen, auf den Punkt gebracht.

Ich besitze einige Fachbücher zur Stimme, Anatomie, Akustik, Gesangstechnik, die ich nie ganz lese, sondern zu einzelnen Fragestellungen konsultiere. All diese Bücher lese ich jetzt viel effizienter, wenn ich vorher im Lexikon die Kernaussagen nachschlage. Obwohl das Lexikon stramme 2,5 kg wiegt, habe ich es seit Erscheinen auf allen meinen Bahnfahrten dabei, denn soviel konnte ich noch nie in so kurzer Zeit über die Stimme lernen. Das Lexikon ist seinen Preis merh als Wert. Man braucht oft nicht wirklich ein ganzes Fachbuch und findet hier die Essenz zu allen Begriffen an einem Ort.

Das Buch wird ein bedeutender Beitrag zum einheitlicheren Gebrauch von Fachbegriffen in der Gesangswelt sein. Endlich kann man einige der oft schwammig verwendeten Themen auf gleicher Ebene diskutieren. Die Gesangspädagogik wird durch das Buch sehr bereichert.

Jedem, der mit der Singstimme zu tun hat, ob Gesangsprofi, Chorsänger, Lehrer oder Stimminteressierter kann ich das Buch wärmstens empfehlen.

Alles über das älteste Instrument der Welt –
Die Gesangsstimme in einem einzigartigen Nachschlagewerk

Dieses umfassende Nachschlagewerk informiert mit enzyklopädischem Anspruch über das älteste Musikinstrument der Menschheitsgeschichte: die menschliche Stimme. Indem sich das Lexikon der Gesangsstimme diesem Phänomen aus einem völlig neuen Blickwinkel nähert und gleichzeitig alle Erscheinungsformen des Singens thematisiert, schließt es endlich eine lange bestehende Lücke in der Musikliteratur.

Physiologische Gesichtspunkte, wie Anatomie der (Gesangs-)Stimme und Stimmbildung, werden dabei ebenso ausführlich behandelt wie die unterschiedlichen Stimmtypen und Gesangstechniken. »Singen ist eine edle Kunst und Übung« stellte bereits Martin Luther in seinen Tischreden fest. Fragen der Gesangspädagogik und der Vortragslehre des Gesangs wird dementsprechend ein ebenso großer Stellenwert beigemessen wie dem Bereich der Kirchenmusik und den unterschiedlichen Entwicklungen des Chorwesens.

Laaber-Verlag

Das »Lexikon der Gesangsstimme« wendet sich an eine breit gefächerte Leserschaft: Sänger und andere Musiker, Gesangspädagogen, Musikwissenschaftler, Stimmärzte, Stimmtherapeuten, Sprecher, Medienschaffende und am Gesang interessierte Laien. Das Lexikon greift thematisch weit aus und versucht, den aktuellen Wissensstand verschiedener Disziplinen (Gesangspädagogik, Phoniatrie, Phonetik, Anatomie, Stimmphysiologie, Musikermedizin sowie historische und systematische Musikwissenschaft) miteinander zu vernetzen.

Stuttgarter Stimmtage

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Wolfgang Saus

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

Willst du zur Diskussion beitragen?
Deine Meinung interessiert mich!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Weitersagen