Probably the world’s most famous birthday song has an interesting copyright history. It was written by the sisters Mildred J. Hill (1859-1916) and Patty Smith Hill (1868-1946) from Kentucky as a morning welcome song for the children of the “Louisville Experimental Kindergarten” with the original title “Good Morning to All”. Hardly anyone was aware that the music publisher Warner/Chappell Music demanded money for public performances (it was sometimes per second) and thus raised about
[ million a year. Unjustly, as it turned out now.

In September 2015, an American court ruled that the rights of the alleged owner had collected millions of dollars in royalties for decades without justification. According to EU copyright law, however, the protection lasts until 31.12.2016, 70 years after the death of the last deceased composer.

The court’s decision follows a complaint by filmmaker Jennifer Nelson from New York, who made a documentary film about the song and its origins in 2013. And Warner/Chappel charged her 00 license fee (or 0,000 fine).

Here is an amusing legal analysis of the complex international copyright around “Happy Birthday to You” by Prof. Dr. Thomas Hoeren (Münster) in German.

Today I made an interesting phone call with Gema and got the following information (by two employees): I am allowed to upload my recording of “Happy Birthday” to YouTube without charge. The community has been in litigation with YouTube for years. According to the viewpoint of Gema, it is not the uploaders but YouTube who are responsible for processing the Gema. If the situation remains as it is until 1.1.2017 – on that date the exploitation right expires even under EU law – then the song is free in this way also in Germany, if it is not censored by YouTube.

 

I look forward to your comment. Maybe you sing it yourself and post your version?

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Tell a Friend

Happy Birthday to You for Overtone Singing

Dieses wohl bekannteste Geburtstagslied der Welt hat eine interessante Copyrightgeschichte. Geschrieben haben es die Schwestern Mildred J. Hill (1859–1916) und Patty Smith Hill (1868–1946) aus Kentucky als morgendliches Begrüßungslied der Kinder des „Louisville Experimental Kindergarten“ und dem ursprünglichen Titel „Good Morning to All“. Kaum jemandem war bewußt, dass der Musikverlag Warner/Chappell Music für öffentliche Aufführungen Geld verlangte (teils 75 $ pro Sekunde) und damit etwa 2 Mio. Dollar pro Jahr einnahm. Zu Unrechte, wie sich jetzt herausstellte.

Im September 2015 entschied ein amerikanisches Gericht, dass die Verwertungsrechte vom vermeintlichen Inhaber Jahrzehnte lang unberechtigt Lizenzgebühren in Millionenhöhe eingenommen hat. Laut EU Urheberrecht besteht der Schutz aber bis zum 31.12.2016, 70 Jahre nach dem Tod der zuletzt verstorbenen Mitkomponistin.

Der Gerichtsentscheidung war eine Klage der Filmemacherin Jennifer Nelson aus New York vorausgegangen, die 2013 einen Dokumentarfilm über das Lied und seine Herkunft drehte und von der Warner/Chappel 1500 $ Lizenzgebühr (oder 150.000 $ Strafe) dafür verlangte.

Hier eine amüsante juristische Analyse des international komplexen Urheberrechts rund um „Happy Birthday to You“ von Prof. Dr. Thomas Hoeren (Münster): http://www.uni-muenster.de/Jura.itm/hoeren/veroeffentlichungen/Happy_Birthday.pdf.

Mit der Gema führte ich heute ein interessantes Telefonat und bekam folgende Auskunft (von gleich zwei Mitarbeitern): Ich dürfe ohne Gemagebühren meine Aufnahme von „Happy Birthday“ auf YouTube hochladen (folgt in Kürze). Die Gema befinde sich mit YouTube seit Jahren im Rechtsstreit. Nach Gemaauffassung seien nicht die Uploader sondern YouTube für die Abwicklung mit der Gema zuständig. Wenn die Situation noch bis 1.1.2017 so bleibt – an dem Datum läuft auch nach EU-Recht das Verwertungsrecht aus – dann ist das Lied auf diese Weise auch in Deutschland frei, sofern es YouTube nicht zensiert.

Ich freue mich auf Deinen Kommentar. Vielleicht singst Du es selber und postest Deine Version?

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

Willst du zur Diskussion beitragen?
Deine Meinung interessiert mich!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Weitersagen