Artikel aktualisiert am 14.02.2018

The Golden Compass (2007)

Imdb

Direction: Chris Weitz

Composer: Alexandre Desplat

Right at the beginning you hear flageolet glissandi of an electric cello (using chorus pedal) blending with overtone singing by Michael Ormiston and give mystical soundscapes, in which individual instruments are difficult to detect. Alexandre Desplat in an interview with mftm: “I love to blend sounds together so you can’t really tell what instrument it is.”

In the film, this sound symbolizes the freedom from the system control (Magisterium), which is represented by the main character Lyra together with the golden compass, which predicts the future and reveals the truth. A very striking association, because harmonics shift the perception into the right brain hemisphere, and thus beyond the control from outside. This is the film adaptation of the first volume of the phantasy trilogy “His Dark Materials” by Philip Pullman.

Perhaps for this reason the film was panned by critics (for alleged “anti-religion”), which meant that the other volumes of the trilogy were not filmed. I like this movie very much, I saw it several time and recommend it.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Artikel aktualisiert am 14.10.2016

Der goldene Kompass (2007)

The Golden Compass (Originaltitel)

Regie: Chris Weitz

Komponist: Alexandre Desplat

Gleich zu Beginn mischen sich Flaggeolett-Glissandi vom elektrischen Cello (unter Einsatz von chorus pedal) mit Obertongesang von Michael Ormiston und ergeben ein mystisches Klanggebilde, in dem einzelne Instrumente nur schwer zu erkennen sind. Alexandre Desplat im Interview mit mftm: „I love to blend sounds together so you can’t really tell what instrument it is.“

Im Film wird damit die Freiheit von der Systemkontrolle symbolisiert, die die Hauptfigur Lyra zusammen mit dem die Wahrheit und Zukunft aufdeckenden goldenen Kompass verkörpert. Eine überaus treffende Assoziation, da Obertöne die Wahrnehmung in die rechte Gehirnhemisphäre verlagern und damit der Kontrolle von aussen entziehen. Es handelt sich um die Verfilmung des ersten Bandes der Fantasy-Trilogie „His Dark Materials“ von Philip Pullman.

Vielleicht gerade aus diesem Grund wurde der Film von Kritikern (wegen angeblicher „Antireligiosität“) verrissen, was dazu führte, dass keine Verfilmung der anderen Bände der Trilogie mehr folgte. Ich finde den Film hervorragend, habe ich schon mehrfach gesehen und kann ihn empfehlen.

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

Willst du zur Diskussion beitragen?
Deine Meinung interessiert mich!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.